Contractor Licensing

You need to be registered or certified to do construction work in Florida. You can get a "registered" contractor's license at the local level, unless a certified license is required by the county you want to perform the work in. Contractors with a "certified" license are allowed to work anywhere in the state.



Contractor Licensing Matrix

Check jurisdiction links below for licensing requirements.

Leon County, Florida
850.606.1300
Certified Contractor's License

State License Exam Information

To qualify for the examination you must be at least 18 years old. Applicants must meet one of the following requirements:

  • Four year construction-related degree from an accredited college (equivalent to three years experience) and one year proven related experience
  • One year of experience as a foreman and not less than three years of credits for any accredited college-level courses
  • One year experience as a workman, one year proven experience as a foreman, and two years of credits for any accredited college level courses
  • Two years experience as a workman, one year experience as a foreman, and one year of credits for any accredited college level courses
  • Four years experience as a workman or foreman of which at least one year must have been as a foreman
  • Holding an active certified or registered Florida contractor's license

Applications are submitted directly to the testing vendor. Contact: http://www.floridaexam.com/

  • Division 1
    • General
    • Building
    • Residential

    The Division I exams have three parts; business and finance, contract administration, and project management.

    To become a licensed certified contractor, an applicant must pass all parts of the exam, meet education/experience requirements, obtain worker's compensation coverage and demonstrate financial responsibility.

    Minimum amounts required for general liability insurance are :
    General and building contractors - $300,000 bodily injury, 50,000 property damage
    All other categories - 100,000 bodily injury, 25,000 property damage

    If you have a trade license from another state, you may qualify for the trade exam if you can prove you got your license by passing an exam, that your license required experience equal to what the Board requires and documentation regarding scope of work allowed by the licensee. Other than this Florida doesn't have any reciprocity or endorsement agreements other states.

    The fee for the examination is $135. If you are applying between June 4th of an even year and August 31st of an odd year, the license will be $409. If you are applying between September 1st of an odd year and June 3rd of an even year, the license will cost $309. If you paid $354 and submitted your examination application before February 11, 2003, your fee will be $209 and $109 respectively.

    You must include a credit report with your application package. For a list of acceptable credit report agencies, click here.

  • Division 2
    • Mechanical
    • Air conditioning class A
    • Air conditioning class B
    • Glass and glazing specialty
    • Roofing
    • Solar
    • Sheet metal
    • Commercial pool/spa
    • Residential pool/spa
    • Pool/spa Servicing
    • Plumbing
    • Solar water heating specialty
    • Underground utility and excavation
    • Pollutant storage systems
    • Gypsum drywall specialty
    • Structure specialty
    • Gas line specialty
    • Tank lining applicator
    • Precision tank tester
    • Dry wall specialty

    The Division II exams have two parts; business and finance, and trade knowledge.

    To become a licensed certified contractor, an applicant must pass all parts of the exam, meet education/experience requirements, obtain worker's compensation coverage and demonstrate financial responsibility.

    Minimum amounts required for general liability insurance are :
    General and building contractors - $300,000 bodily injury, 50,000 property damage
    All other categories - 100,000 bodily injury, 25,000 property damage

    If you have a trade license from another state, you may qualify for the trade exam if you can prove you got your license by passing an exam, that your license required experience equal to what the Board requires and documentation regarding scope of work allowed by the licensee. Other than this Florida doesn't have any reciprocity or endorsement agreements other states.

    The fee for the examination is $135. If you are applying between June 4th of an even year and August 31st of an odd year, the license will be $409. If you are applying between September 1st of an odd year and June 3rd of an even year, the license will cost $309. If you paid $354 and submitted your examination application before February 11, 2003, your fee will be $209 and $109 respectively.

    You must include a credit report with your application package. For a list of acceptable credit report agencies, click here.

  • Certified Licenses are Issued By

    Department of Business & Professional Regulation
    Construction Industry Licensing Board
    Attention: Examination
    1940 North Monroe Street
    Tallahassee, FL 32399-1039
    850.487.1395 Phone
    850.921.4216 Fax
    http://www.myflorida.com/dbpr/
    callcenter@dbpr.state.fl.us
    Please include "construction" in the subject line

Contact the City: 850.891.7001Contact the County: 850.606.1300